New Goalposts


Mongol General: Conan! What is best in life?
Conan: To crush your enemies, to see them driven before you, to hear the lamentations of their women.

Okay, now that I’ve been kind of fucking off for a couple weeks after the previous program wrapped up, and I’ve probably figured out what was making my low back hurt (sleeping on my stomach; might be time to flip the mattress, or think more seriously about replacing the nine-year-old one we’ve got – one more thing to spend the tax return on instead of throwing it wholesale at credit card debt), it’s been tough to lay my hands on something that piques my interest and will get me to stick.

I suspect that I found it this week (well, more specifically, yesterday). Rather than going nuts at lunch, I think that doing a handful of one- or two-set things, to try and build muscle in useful ways. I don’t see myself as the sort of person who can do a typical “bulking phase,” so I’m just going to keep trying to build on what I’ve got that I want, and try continue to burn what I don’t.

Going along with that, I think I’ve finally managed to light a fire under my ass vis a vis the “Coworker Challenge” thing. Yes, we’re all supposed to be competing against ourselves and gravity, but some folks have been very, very pointed about wanting to knock me off as King of the Hill in this, that, or the other, and, frankly… no. Just… no. I think my ego needed a challenge, or something. Sure, I can talk a good game about individual progress and all that, but, underneath… yeah, I’m competitive about shit, and it’s at least going to be a fairly even match, so to speak.

My arbitrary five-week goal is to be able to do a set of ten pull-ups with at least 50% of my bodyweight strapped to my ass, a single set of 100 pushups, and un-fuck my squatting form as much as possible. I’m also going to get a little more cardio back into my routine, since a coworker (who I have dubbed the “5K Pimp”) dropped off a handful of race announcements, running from this weekend through June 6th.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

