[WotD] Mo– You know what, it’s Booyah Time.


Velocity Diet, Workout # 13

Reps: 20
Rest: 15 sec (oh shit)
Load: “Heavy” (4-5RM)

– Chin-Ups (underhand grip) – 90# on belt – 4/2/2/2/1/1/1/1/1/1/1/1/2 (I was joking with a friend at lunchtime that this set was going to look nearly this bad – “I foresee rep breakdowns that go something like 5-4-2-2-1-2-1-1-2”)
– Ab Wheel Rolls – 2×20

Let’s build some tension, shall we?

So, at this point, it’s time to head home to do the rest of the lifts in the workout.

– Barbell Bench Press (sub for DB Bench) – 155# – 5/5/3/2/3/2

– Back Squat (sub for Front Squat, I’m not confident enough in my wrists or my form to load appropriately) – 185# 5/5 (60 sec break, since I did these last, and the thermometer in the garage [clever name still pending] was a rather unlovely 99°) 5/5 – PR

There was also one other little thing which wasn’t on the workout plan for today:

Deadlift – 315# – 2×1 – PR

Today gets flagged on the calendar as the first time in my life that I’ve ever deadlifted twice  my bodyweight (the scale, post-workout shower, said 155.0).

So, yeah.

Give 100% and achieve 200%. It’s BOOYAH Time.

5 Comments

  1. Congrats on the DL!!! And thats funny about the predicted rep breakdown- the good news is, it sounds like you are realistically in touch with your abilities.

    • Thanks. :-) It helps to have friends who will kick your ass, but after being able to do the sets of 275 on Friday, I figured that with a little more attention to form, I’d be able to get it. Hopefully, the next bit of progress will come in chunks as I have the chance to work on my technique and do things properly.

      • here’s something funny… you inspired me to mix up the workouts this week – and WOW am I feeling it today! The tactical chin up ladder I did on Monday is really doing its ouch ouch magic today…. you know its going to be an interesting time when applying deodorant seems like a mini lat massage….

        • Now I’m curious to see what a “tactical chin-up ladder” is.

  2. […] Rafe: My corporeal being did not exhibit any substantial changes in mass or composition. However, I got faster and stronger (for the first time in my life, I picked up something twice as heavy as I am). […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

