[WotD] Friday, August 21


Lunchtime was mostly stretching of the hips and shoulders, and one shoulder dumbbell complex with a pair of 25’s and some isometric holds on the cable machine to work on core strength/tone/stability.

After hours was a Starting Strength session, with mixed results.

Squats: 45 @ 2×5 / 115 @ 2×5 / 135 @ 1×5 / 165 @ 1×5 / 195 @ 1×5 / 220 @ 5×5 (PR)

Bench Press: 45 @ 2×5 / 95 @ 1×5 / 135 @ 1×5 / 165 @ 1×5 / 185 @ 4×5 +3 (PR)

Reverse-Grip Curls: 45 @ 3×10

Deadlift: 135 @ 2×5 / 225 @ 2×5 / 275 @ 1×5 / 325 @ 3 / 305 @ 1×5

Total Volume: 25,475

I can’t bitch too much about two PRs, even if I couldn’t muscle out the last two reps of the BP, but I’m disappointed in my DL volume. I’ve ordered a pair of strap gloves on the recommendation of a friend to try and actually challenge the lifting muscles, unhindered by my grip being my weak point. The reps at 325 were the first time I actually felt my glutes think about working; normally, it’s a little bit of lumbar effort, and a whole lot of nothing else seeming to work too hard (except my hands).

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

