Hello, Cardio, My Old Friend


… and I mean “Old Friend” in the Kirk/Khan kind of way.

After about eight (yes, eight) minutes, I was ready to puke. This is that kind of  good routine. Blame the well-intentioned but sadistic fellows over at Nate’s place for this. Having talked to Roman briefly last week (see comments) about how my bulking up has gone since hitting my low weight of 153# in June, I’m going to be working in more fat-burning / cardio-endurance stuff on my off days to try and pare back some of the non-essential mass that’s shown up.

This will probably be lunch most days, and maybe the warmup Tues/Thurs before whatever happens after work. I’d like to get to the point where multiple iterations are the order of the day, at least after hours.

Repeated Vertical Jumps – 8 reps
Pull-ups – 2 reps short of failure (15)
Lunge Jump – 6 reps per side
Close-grip Pushups – 5 reps short of failure (20)
1 and 1/2 rep[1] Bulgarian Split Squats – 10 reps per side
Regular Pushups – 2 reps short of failure (25)
Bodyweight Rows[2] – 15 reps
Bodyweight Squats – 25 reps
Mountain Climbers – 15 reps per side
1-Arm KB Swings – 10 reps per side (36#)

The good part was seeing how my vertical jump has improved over the last couple of months. The bad part was how brutal those 1.5 rep BSS’ are. Holy fuck.

[1] Instructions courtesy of John “Roman” Romaniello:

  1. Perform a full rep (from top to bottom)
  2. Come HALFWAY back to the starting point
  3. Go back to the bottom
  4. Come all the way back up.

That’s 1 rep.

[2] I improvised by lacing my fingers together around a waist-high bar and pulling my chest to it while keeping my legs straight

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

