Why So Serious?


Maybe I shouldn’t quote a movie I haven’t seen yet, but, enh. Apparently “shiny” is from Firefly, but I’ve said that, too, and think Joss Whedon is completely overrated.

A regular reader pointed out that there has been a rather marked lack of…. anything, really… around here of late.

I have been slack and remiss as far as posting the miscellaneous lunchtime workouts that have been taking place – the usual assortment of pullups, GHRs, medicine ball rolling, ab wheel stuff, and kettlebell moves. Motivation has been flagging as the holiday schedule kicked everything off-kilter, and the “get fat by 1/8 so you’ll look like you lost more weight by 4/8” thing the office is holding has been further undermining things.

I’m officially on the schedule to do an early morning boot camp program for February (both for my own edification, as well as to provide first-hand insight for ShrinkGeek.  Speaking of SG, the site revamp also took a lot of mindshare the latter half of December (totally worth it, though).

Been inching towards doing some personal training at a distance for a couple of folks, but that’s kind of in the doldrums at the moment as well. I’m also about to (kind of) have my first in-person bit of that, which is proving to be a lot more daunting, stressful, and generally fraught with potential peril than I was expecting.

I’m signed up for the Gasparilla 5k at the end of February, so there’s at least one concrete goal to hit, and I’m probably going to resume 5/3/1 next week, once I get a new baseline of my corresponding 1RM for those lifts.

Not exactly a surprise that it feels like I’m spinning my wheels, looking at it this way, is it?

2 Comments

  1. Why not join The Perfect 10 challenge? Mught give some motivation?

    • I’m afraid I’m not familiar with that.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

