This is not a recording


It’s reassuring to hear, every so often, that I do, in fact, know what the fuck I’m talking about.

It borders on “pretty fucking funny” when it keeps happening from the same source.

Unlike just about everyone else who references it, I have not, in fact, read Outliers. However, one of the points that is raised in that book is that the notion of expertise is something you get with practice, and that something on the order of 10,000 hours. I don’t think I’m anywhere near that figure, I’m just fortuntate in that I’m relatively bright, have the ability to pay attention, and have an excellent bullshit detector.

Ballparking my time picking up heavy crap on the nearest available napkin, I’d say it’s been about 1,000 hours in the last year and a half or so, maybe half as much time reading on the subject, and maybe half that much time writing about it. So, roughly 2,000 hours in the last two years. In the five years before that, maybe another couple of thousand hours. Essentially, this means I’m about halfway towards the arbitrary 10k figure. It’s a nice thought.

It never ceases to amaze me, though, how dumb some people can be. I’m not picking on anyone in particular, except maybe the personal trainer Dave is talking about (because they should fucking well know better). Being clueless due to inexperience is part of the learning process. Being able to consider and evaluate new information, or reconsider older information in the light of new evidence – that’s the kind of thing that makes you suck less.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

