[WotD] Thursday, February 4


It’s not that I haven’t been doing anything, it’s that I haven’t been doing anything interesting.  Two miles of intervals in my Vibram Five Fingers? Pullups? Cable Rows?

Yeah, that’s what I figured.

Of more interest, maybe, is the fact that I’m beginning a fitness boot camp (as a student, not instructor) next Monday. Unfortunately, this means I have to get my ass out of bed at 5am to be there from six to seven, and then go to work. If nothing else, I’m hoping to pick up some workout tricks, lose weight, and improve my cardio before the Gasparilla Distance Classic on the 27th. My folks were down this past weekend, and Dad semi-jokingly asked if I was going to break 20 minutes for the 5k. I love his well-intentioned but misplaced optimism. I’m shooting for 22:00 as my goal, but as long as I’m under 24:45 (assuming the weather isn’t abysmal), I won’t be too disappointed.

In terms of things that are actually pertinent, over at ShrinkGeek, I did an interview with Laurell K. Hamilton about her workout routine and assorted fitness stuff. That was actually rather cool, and I’m hoping that she’ll make it to Dragon*Con this year so we can hang out.

Also? I’m really wondering why “There’s a Cap(sule) for That” is getting so many hits from folks googling for “pills.” I mean, I don’t mind the traffic, and my SEO generally kind of sucks (not that I’m making any money off this blog to begin with), but I find it funny what brings folks to my door. Anyway…

Taking a page from the “better to do something than nothing” playbook, then…

Deadlifts: 1×10 @ 135 + 15 shrugs,  1×1 + 10 shrugs

Jack Pulls: 1×5 @ 205 / 1×5 @ 225 / 1×3 @ 275 / 1×3 @ 315 (PR for a lift using double-overhand grip) / 1×2 @ 345 / 1×1 @ 375 (PR for the Jack Pull, full DL PR is 405#)

The jacks are set to their highest notch, which puts them about half an inch below my patella. This makes them a bit deeper than most traditional rack pulls, with the added degree of difficulty of having to return the bar to a cradle that’s only about two or two and a half inches wide. Definitely trickier than doing them in a standard rack or cage, which suits me just fine.

I’m just happy to see that I can still make anything over 225 fucking move upwards without it being across my shoulders.

1 Comment

  1. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by etcet: Today’s workout, featuring the return of actual weights above 300# – http://bit.ly/b9XqHl


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

