Back in Bla– er, Grey


Keen observers of this space will note it’s been rather more quiet of late. Taking a week off from doing anything but pushups, dips, pullups, and jogging will do that.  With it being the first weekend of the month, it was also tape measure and caliper time, which served to reinforce my belief that electronic body fat sensors are simply full of shit.

Tanita Bathroom scale: 22%

Hand-held sensor at work: 21.3%

$6 pair of calipers: 13%

Eyeballs, even without ego: “Are you fucking kidding me?”

The boot camp experiment has come to a close, and, in the main, I don’t know if it did much for me, physically, but I did pick up some tricks.

Speaking of picking stuff up….

5/3/1 – Squats (week 1, cycle whatever)

Warmed up with an assortment of lifts, after feeling good about some undocumented front squats and overhead presses on Friday. I wasn’t sure if I was going to settle back into 5/3/1 or not. Once I had the bar across my shoulders, I decided to do so. As an experiment, I tried to use strictly correct hand position – “laughable failure” would be an accurate summation. This torqued my shoulders so much that I was barely able to re-rack 95#, so I went back to my wrong-looking grip, where it would appear that I’m supporting the weight on my hands, but am in fact using my shoulder’s lack of rear rotational flexibility to pull it against my traps and keep it snug.

Warmup:

Front Squat: 1×6 @ 95

Overhead Press: 1×10 @ 95

Straight-legged Deadlift: 1×10 @ 95

Shrug: 1×15 @ 95

Javelin Press: 1×10 @ 45 (each arm)

Squat: 1×5 @ 45 / 1x 10 @ 45 / 1×10 @ 95 / 1×10 @ 135

Glute Bridge (cool-down): 1×15 @ 135

Work Sets:

Squat: 3×5 @ 185 / 3×5 @ 205 / 3×5+3 @ 225

Felt good. Felt damn good, really. So, I think I’m back in the saddle, and won’t be pushing the big numbers too hard, and will instead return to my triple-dip version of the program. I’d rather succeed and do more reps than crash out and fail a set or hurt my goddamned back again.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

