Ikea for Metalheads


Yes, I'm the idiot in the upper left.

Other than the frowny face, I was the guy in the upper left corner when I brought it in from where the UPS dude dropped it off. Weighing in at 110#, I probably wasn't his favorite customer.

After a couple of weeks of anticipation, my new toy arrived yesterday. Knowing that was coming, and that I had a personal day that had to be used before the end of the month, today was the perfect opportunity to take the day off to put that sucker together. After, of course, cleaning some of the cruft out of the garage to make space and all.

90 minutes later, it was ready for action. Not bad, considering the assembly guide contains no written instructions whatsoever, and the salient portion consists of exactly two diagrams. It’s not rocket science, admittedly, but the PowerTec folks have a very well-engineered piece of equipment here. All you need is a couple of crescent wrenches.

So, how does it work in practice?

Like this:

It’s exactly what I was hoping for – just the tool to allow me to do squats to full depth without worrying if I have to bail on a lift.

Speaking of the lifts…

Warmup:

Javelin Press: 1×10 @ 45 (each arm)

Overhead Press: 1×10

Back Squat: 1×10 # 45 / 1×10 # 95 / 1×5 @ 115 / 1×5 @ 135

Work Sets:

Back Squat: 3×5 @ 185 / 3×5 @ 205 / 1×5 @ 225

Then I put the pullup handles that attach to the top of the rack to use, and did a dozen of those, to stretch out my back and such.

1 Comment

  1. Nice rack! I’m glad that you’re having fun with it.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

