[WotD] Sunday, May 2


15/9/3+ Bench Press Day

The last of the new toys arrived – a pair of Fat Gripz. Since, as has been detailed previously (and repeatedly), my grip in particular and my forearms in general are the lagging weak points in a lot of my work, these seemed like a no-brainer when EliteFTS had them on sale last week.  I’m a lot more able to drop $30 on something I can slap on either bar, my dumbbells, or anything else than I am pony up for a full-on fat olympic bar (which, in my hierarchy of lifting stuff, is probably just behind a full lifting rack/cage). I’ll probably do a full review once I’ve had more opportunity to work with them, but, after two days’ use, they seem to deliver both improved forearm engagement and additional challenge to regular lifts (curls and bench press, thus far).

Warmup:

Bench Press: 1×10 @ 45 / 1×10 @ 95 / 1×8 @ 135 / 1×5 @ 155

Work Sets:

Bench Press: 3×5 @ 185 / 3×3+1 (+½, which landed on my lap) @ 205 (PR)

Supplemental:

Squat: 1x10x10 @ 135 (one set of 10 after each set of bench)

One other undocumented benefit, at least when it comes to relatively heavy bench pressing, is that the firm rubber of the Gripz is more comfortable against the heel/palm of my hand than the naked bar.

And, oh yes, summer has arrived. 92°F in the garage at noon today.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

