Not quite getting the hang of a Thursday*


15/9/3+ Overhead Press

While being terribly, frustratingly busy at the office is good for taking a late lunch (and, even at 3pm, there were folks in the office gym, somewhat surprisingly), it didn’t make for a particularly thrilling workout  – half an hour on the fairly-evil “cross country” program on the Precor elliptical.

After work, there was one moment of respite – the softball game got rained out, so we didn’t have to get our asses handed to us by a team with no business being in our league. Thus, I could get in my OHP workout without compromising my already compromised performance.

Warmup:

Overhead Press: 2×10 @ 45 / 1×8 @ 95

Chinup: 5×10

Work Sets:

Overhead Press: 3×5 @ 105 / 2×5 @ 115 / 3×3+2 @ 125

Somewhat disappointing that I wasn’t able to get 3×5. I’ll probably stick with the same weights next time and try and push through as far as I wanted to get today (or, failing sets of five at 125, I’ll go to five sets of three, then plus).

I can probably chalk that up to eating dinner before lifting, instead of just having my usual pre-workout concoction (a blend of creatine, BCAA powder, and a combination of Cytonox and Surge workout fuel). During and after, I tried something new – MusclePharm’s “Recon.”

Taste-wise, it’s too sweet, and has a weird, cloying note, at least at tap temp. Maybe it’s less nasty fridge-cold, but I think I’ll be cutting it with something a little tart.

* anyone not getting the reference is going to be mocked around here.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

