Lagniappe


I’m going to quote one of my other blogs for a moment here.

Lagniappe: A small gift given to a customer by a merchant. Basically, “a little something extra.”

Cheap Philosophy: The extra mile is always paved with broken glass, and it’s full of potholes.

In that context, I was bitching, but it occurred to me today that, in a very real sense, the “+” in my workout regimen is also a bit of lagniappe, and, at the time it’s taking place, it sucks a fair bit. However, there is a very immediate reward, especially when that little something extra turns into a PR. If that’s not an incentive that someone can get behind, I’m not sure what other carrots can be dangled in front of them. I think it’s pretty fucking cool to be better today than I was yesterday, and be better tomorrow than I am today.

15/9/3+ Overhead Press

Warmup:

Kettlebell swings: 1×20 (two-handed)

Overhead Press: 1×20 @ 45 / 1×10 @ 65 / 1×5 @ 85

Work Sets:

Overhead Press: 3×5 @ 105 / 3×5 @ 115 / 3×5+2 @ 125 (PR)

Supplemental:

EZ Bar Curl: 3×10 @ 65

Kettlebell Row: 3×10 @ 54 (each arm)

Chinup-grip Inverted Row: 2×10

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

