[WotD] Tuesday, August 3


15/9/3 – Squats

Tried something a little bit different this evening, in the form of box squats. Naturally, I don’t have a real, formal squatting box, this being my first go at these, so I improvised – my old subwoofer enclosure, with one layer of the same high-density foam padding that I laid on the floor on top of it (there were six edge pieces that I didn’t use; these hooked together into three pairs, which were almost exactly the width of the top of the box, and 18″ or so wide – plenty to aim my butt at).

Lunchtime was spent similarly to yesterday – medicine ball slams for a minute, with a 30 second break, some overhead squats with the 10# bar, KB overhead presses, L-sits, back extensions, and assorted other hip and shoulder mobility work. Also did some front tuck levers, and tried descending to a full front lever from being upside-down, and while I wasn’t able to hold it for more than a second, I could feel all kinds of muscles in my mid-back firing that aren’t nearly as engaged in the tuck variant. Definitely bears further work.

Warmup:

Box Squat: 1×10 @ 45 / 1×10 @ 105 / 1×5 @ 155 / 1×3 @ 185

Work Sets:

Box Squat: 3×5 @ 215 / 2×5 @ 235 / 1×5 @ 245

Admittedly, not the full boat’s worth of sets, but considering the challenge of the new move, I’ll take it. I’m not sure if I should be sitting down more fully before driving up; I was basically touching my glute/hamstring junction to the pad for a split second and then ascending. It felt like I was leaning a lot further forward in the process of reaching back with my butt to reach the box, even though it was maybe four or six inches behind my heels.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

